Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 Research Group
Trinity College in the University of Toronto

Statement by the Deauville Partnership
with Arab Countries in Transition on Open International Investment

Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs, U.S. State Department, Washington, April 12, 2012

See also 2012 G8 Foreign Ministers Meeting Chair's Statement

At this time of rapid and historic change in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region, the Deauville Partnership with Arab Countries in Transition recognize that openness to international investment is a critically important part of maintaining economic vitality. International investment is an important driver of growth and prosperity in all of our economies, helping to create well-paying jobs, boost exports, enhance productivity, and stimulate innovation. The benefits of open investment spread across our economies, spurring activity in the manufacturing, services and agricultural sectors and producing opportunities for small-and medium-sized enterprises to compete, both at home and globally.

Given the important benefits that international investment can bring to Partner countries (Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Morocco, and Tunisia) and the economies across the region, and consistent with their commitments under international agreements, these nations will continue their support for creating and maintaining an environment for investment characterized by transparency, non-discrimination, and the rule of law.

For their part, the G8 and regional partners with Arab Countries in Transition will continue to support openness in Partner countries (Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Morocco, and Tunisia) and including through promoting opportunities for international investment, and providing technical and other assistance to promote the ability of these nations to take advantage of those opportunities.

Affirmed this day, April 12, 2012, at the Dead Sea, Jordan, by the following:
Canada, Egypt, European Union, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Libya, Morocco, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America.

Source: United States State Department

G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Libraries and the G7 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to:
This page was last updated April 12, 2012.

All contents copyright © 2020. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.