Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Trinity College in the University of Toronto

G7 Charlevoix Summit

Annex C:
G7 Innovation Ministers' Statement on Stimulating Innovation

G7 Innovation Ministers
Montreal, Canada, March 28, 2018
[Français]

The G7 Ministers of Innovation met in Montréal, Québec on March 27-28, 2018 to further our dialogue and cooperation on approaches to spur innovation and elevate the growth trajectory of our nations. This is our opportunity to deepen collaboration, learn from each other's experiences, and exchange examples of innovation initiatives, case studies, and best practices. To this end, we have identified four interconnected and mutually reinforcing themes to stimulate innovation:

Skills and Talent: The Common Trait of Innovation

Fostering innovation and entrepreneurship requires an emphasis on skills development and training for the labour force of tomorrow. This requires a new mindset of continuous learning which starts in school but also includes continual up-skilling and re-skilling to ensure that our workforce is ready to fill present skills gaps and is able to grow into the jobs of tomorrow.

G7 members shared the following innovation initiatives, case studies, and best practices:

The above demonstrates that G7 countries recognize that education and workforce development must follow the changing needs of industry.

Technologies and Breakthroughs: The Inflection Point of Transformative Capabilities

Scientific discovery and technological breakthroughs are the primary sources for expanding the frontiers of human knowledge and for responding in innovative and practical ways to the challenges and opportunities of the 21st century. We need to highlight the importance of transformative technologies to elevate the competitiveness of established and emerging firms, industries, and clusters.

G7 members shared the following innovation initiatives, case studies, and best practices:

G7 countries understand that risk taking can lead to benefits that accrue to all and that assistance should be given to those willing to do the work to turn ideas into the next generation of transformative innovation.

Growing Innovative Companies: A Conduit to Better Jobs

Today's companies are competing in a global marketplace even if they don't realize it. They need tools, supports, and predictable business environments to enable them to invest and rapidly adopt new technologies to remain competitive and grow.

G7 members shared the following innovation initiatives, case studies, and best practices:

G7 countries recognize that SME growth drives prosperity and that the integration of transformative technologies is required across all businesses to maintain competitiveness.

Ease of Doing Business: To Foster Entrepreneurship

Effective policies for innovation rely on a sound business environment that encourages investment in technology and R&D and embolden innovative firms to experiment with new ideas, technologies, and business models without the fear of being stigmatized when experiments don't succeed. It also requires streamlining many of the hurdles that entrepreneurs must navigate in order to free themselves to focus on their goals.

G7 members shared the following innovation initiatives, case studies, and best practices:

Streamlining interactions between businesses and governments to ease burdens is a goal we all share and are taking positive steps to ensure that launching and growing businesses is simplified.

[back to top]

Source: Official website of the 2018 Canadian G7 Presidency


G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G7 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g7@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated March 28, 2018.

All contents copyright © 2019. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Trinity College in the University of Toronto

G7 Charlevoix Summit

Annexe C :
Déclaration des ministres de l'Innovation du G7 au sujet de la stimulation de l'innovation

Ministres de l'emploi et de l'innovation du G7
Montréal, Canada, 28 mars 2018
[English]

Les ministres de l'Innovation du G7 se sont réunis à Montréal (Québec) les 27 et 28 mars 2018 pour poursuivre leur dialogue et leur coopération sur des façons de stimuler l'innovation et d'élever la trajectoire de croissance de nos nations. Nous avons la possibilité d'approfondir la collaboration, d'apprendre de l'expérience les uns des autres et d'échanger des exemples d'initiatives, des études de cas et des pratiques exemplaires en matière d'innovation. Dans cette optique, nous avons cerné quatre thèmes interreliés, se renforçant mutuellement, sur la stimulation de l'innovation.

Compétences et talent : Le trait commun de l'innovation

Favoriser l'innovation et l'entrepreneuriat exige de mettre l'accent sur le développement des compétences et la formation pour la main-d'œuvre de demain. Il faut un nouvel état d'esprit privilégiant l'apprentissage continu, d'abord à l'école, mais comprenant aussi le perfectionnement et le recyclage professionnel, pour que notre population active soit en mesure de combler les lacunes d'aujourd'hui en matière de compétences et d'acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour les emplois de demain.

Les membres du G7 ont présenté les initiatives, études de cas et pratiques exemplaires suivantes en matière d'innovation :

Les éléments ci-dessus démontrent que les pays du G7 comprennent que l'éducation et le développement des compétences de la population active doivent suivre les besoins changeants de l'industrie.

Technologies et percées : Le point d'inflexion des capacités transformatrices

La découverte scientifique et les percées technologiques sont les sources premières pour repousser les frontières des connaissances humaines et pour répondre de façon innovatrice et pratique aux défis et aux possibilités du 21e siècle. Nous devons insister sur l'importance de technologies transformatrices qui peuvent rehausser la compétitivité d'entreprises, d'industries et de grappes établies et émergentes.

Les membres du G7 ont présenté les initiatives, études de cas et pratiques exemplaires suivantes en matière d'innovation :

Les pays du G7 comprennent que la prise de risques peut mener à des retombées pour tous, et qu'une aide doit être offerte à ceux qui sont prêts à faire le nécessaire pour transformer des idées en innovations transformatrices de prochaine génération.

Favoriser l'essor d'entreprises innovatrices : La voie vers de meilleurs emplois

Les entreprises d'aujourd'hui font concurrence sur le marché mondial, même si elles ne le savent pas. Elles ont besoin d'outils, de soutien et d'environnements commerciaux prévisibles qui leur permettent d'investir et d'adopter rapidement de nouvelles technologies qui assureront leur compétitivité et leur croissance.

Les membres du G7 ont présenté les initiatives, études de cas et pratiques exemplaires suivantes en matière d'innovation :

Les pays du G7 comprennent que la croissance des PME engendre la prospérité, et que l'intégration de technologies transformatrices est nécessaire dans toutes les entreprises pour assurer la compétitivité.

Facilité de faire des affaires : Pour encourager l'entrepreneuriat

Les politiques en matière d'innovation ont besoin d'un environnement commercial qui encourage l'investissement dans la technologie et dans la recherche-développement et qui enhardit les entreprises innovatrices de sorte qu'elles essaient de nouvelles idées, de nouvelles technologies et de nouveaux modèles d'affaires sans craindre la stigmatisation en cas d'échec d'une expérience. Il faut aussi aplanir les nombreux obstacles que doivent surmonter les entrepreneurs, pour qu'ils puissent se consacrer à leurs objectifs.

Les membres du G7 ont présenté les initiatives, études de cas et pratiques exemplaires suivantes en matière d'innovation :

Simplifier les interactions entre les entreprises et les gouvernements de façon à alléger les formalités est un but que nous partageons. Nous prenons des mesures positives pour simplifier le lancement et le développement des entreprises.

[retour en haut]

Source: Site officiel de la présidence canadienne du G7 2018