



Join the Global Conversation

G20 Research Group

Program

Governing the Global Economy: The Role of the G20

Munk School of Global Affairs
Toronto, June 17-18, 2010
in partnership with the
Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade
The Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University
Her Majesty's Government of the United Kingdom
Government of the Republic of Korea
Government of Australia
Atlantic Council of Canada
Jackman Foundation

Canadian International Council – Toronto Branch
Centre for International Studies, Munk School of Global Affairs
Centre for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies, Munk School of Global Affairs
Asian Institute, Munk School of Global Affairs
Program on Conflict Management and Negotiation, Munk School of Global Affairs
Master of Global Affairs Program, Munk School of Global Affairs

Location:
Campbell Conference Facility
Munk School of Global Affairs
1 Devonshire Place
Toronto

Draft of June 17, 2010

June 17, 2010

17:30-19:30 Reception

19:30-21:00 Evening Keynote Address

Moderator and Introduction: John Kirton, Director, G8 Research Group

• Senator Mike Duffy

Closing: Ella Kokotsis, Director, External Relations, G8 Research Group

June 18, 2010

9:00-9:15 Welcome and Introduction

- Janice Stein, Belzberg Professor of Conflict Management, Director, Munk School of Global Affairs
- Don Brean, Co-director, G20 Research Group
- Louis Pauly, Director, Centre for International Studies

9:15-10:00 Opening Keynote Address

Chair: Don McCutchan, Gowlings

• The Honourable Michael Wilson, former minister of finance

10:00-10:15 Break

10:15-11:00 Recovery

Chair: Shinichiro Uda, Institute for the Promotion of Policy Reform-Shinsei Kenkyukai

- Naoki Tanaka, Centre for International Public Policy Studies, Japan
- Bob Fauver, former G7/G8 sherpa, United States

11:00-11:45 Rebalancing

Chair: Tony Porter, McMaster University

- Wendy Dobson, Rotman School of Management
- Dane Rowlands, The Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Carleton

11:45-13:00 Lunch

13:00-14:00 Keynote Address

Moderator: John Kirton, Co-director, G20 Research Group Introduction: David Naylor, President, University of Toronto

• The Honourable Peter Van Loan, Minister of International Trade

Closing: John Kirton, Co-director, G20 Research Group

14:00-14:45 Regulation

Chair: Don Brean, Co-Director, G20 Research Group

- Barbara Stymiest, Royal Bank of Canada
- Dries Lesage, University of Ghent

14:45-15:45 Reform

Chair: Gerry Helleiner, Distinguished Fellow, Centre for International Studies, Munk School of Global Affairs

- The Honourable Tom Hockin, Executive Director, International Monetary Fund
- Paul Masson, Rotman School of Management
- Malcolm Cook, Lowy Institute for Political Policy

15:45-16:00 Break

16:00-17:00 Making the G20 Work at Toronto and Beyond

Chair: Nicholas Bayne, London School of Economics and Political Science

- The Honourable Barbara McDougall, former Canadian minister of state for finance
- Marina Larionova, State University Higher School of Economics
- Alan Alexandroff, Co-Director, G20 Research Group

17:00-17:30 Concluding Reflections

Chair: John Kirton, G20 Research Group

• James Haley, General Director, International Trade and Finance Branch, Department of Finance, Canada

17:30-19:00 Reception